Posted in Language

Ambition

cropped-cropped-img_0412.jpg

All Rights Reserved © mmartel∞

 

 

I had ambition once. Like Solomon

I asked for wisdom, deeming wisdom fair,

And with much pains a little knowledge won

Of Nature’s cruelty and Man’s despair,

And mostly learned how vain such learnings were.

Then in my grief I turned to happiness,

And woman’s love awhile was all my care,

And I achieved some sorrow and some bliss,

Till love rebelled. Then the mad lust of power

Became my dream, to rule my fellow–men;

And I too lorded it my little hour,

And wrought for weal or woe with sword and pen,

And wounded many, some, alas, my friends.

Now I ask silence. My ambition ends.

 

~ WSB

 

Author:

"If he's honest, he'll steal; if he's human, he'll murder; if he's faithful, he'll deceive. Being at a loss to resolve these questions, I am resolved to leave them without any resolution." I have so much to say to you that I am afraid I shall tell you nothing."

Leave a Reply

