Posted in Language, Music, Music History

Unsäglich Schmerz

Man is a rope, tied between beast and overman–a rope over an abyss…
What is great in man is that he is a bridge and not an end: what can be loved in man is that he is an overture and a going under

I say unto you: one must still have chaos in oneself to be able to give birth to a dancing star. I say unto you: you still have chaos in yourselves.
Alas, the time is coming when man will no longer give birth to a star. Alas, the time of the most despicable man is coming, he that is no longer able to despise himself.”

1.
Unsäglich Schmerz
empfind't mein Herz
versehrt an allen Enden.
Ich fürcht' es wöll'
mir Ungefäll
mein Freud' auf Erden wenden.
Durch Scheidens Fall
Seufzen ohn' Zahl
wird ich zu allen Stunden
bedenken das, wie es vor was:
tuet mein Gmüet verwunden, verwunden.

2.
Rat zue Gelück
der Sorgen Strick
nimm weg und tue verhüeten
mit Freuden die
der ich mich nie
zue sehen an mocht nieten
daß ihrer Ehr'
durch Weges Fähr'
beschehe kein Verletzen.
Elend bleib ich
und mein als mich
auf Erd' ihr'r mag ergetzen.

3.
Stät Leid und Klag
wird mir kein Tag
mein Leben lang verlassen.
Oft wünschen mir,
daß ich von ihr
nie hätt' erkennt dermaßen
schön Zucht und Bärd'
kein Sach auf Erd'
bringt mir solichen Schmerzen.
Treulich ohn' List
bleibt sie und ist
der halb' Teil meines Herzen
Author:

"If he's honest, he'll steal; if he's human, he'll murder; if he's faithful, he'll deceive. Being at a loss to resolve these questions, I am resolved to leave them without any resolution." I have so much to say to you that I am afraid I shall tell you nothing."

Leave a Reply

