Posted in Language, Music, Music History, Uncategorized

A lullaby of lament…

Out of some of the deepest moments of despair, their is a beauty that only the troubled know well. It is a fire of the soul, it is a moment when the soul may feel most “alive”. This is very difficult for most to understand, that you must search for that spirit in that moment…from there lies the strength to breathe once again.

This song is a widow’s lullaby lament to her child. The year was 1570.

The lullaby lyrics:

O ba ba mo leanabh Oh hush-a-bye, my little baby
Ba mo leanabh, ba Hush, my little baby, hush
O ba ba mo leanabh Oh hush-a-bye, my little baby
Nì mo leanabhs’ an ba ba My own little baby will go to sleep

Ged tha mi gun chaoraich agam Though I am without a flock of sheep
‘S caoraich uil’ aig càch And the others all have sheep
Ged tha mi gun chaoraich agam Though I am without a flock of sheep
Dèan a leanabh an ba ba You, little baby, can go to sleep

Eudail mhòir a shluaigh an dòmhain Darling, of the people of the great world
Dhòirt iad d’fhuil an dé They spilt your blood yesterday
‘S chuir iad do cheann air stob daraich They put your head on an oaken post
Tacan beag bho do chré A little way from your corpse

Dhìrich mi bheinn mhòr gun anal I breathlessly climbed the great mountain
Dhìrich agus thearn I climbed and I descended
Chuirinn falt mo chinn fo d’ chasan I would put the hair of my head under your feet
Agus craicionn mo dhà làimh And the skin of my two hands

Author:

"If he's honest, he'll steal; if he's human, he'll murder; if he's faithful, he'll deceive. Being at a loss to resolve these questions, I am resolved to leave them without any resolution." I have so much to say to you that I am afraid I shall tell you nothing."

Leave a Reply

