Posted in Traditional

Discerning things from your view…

Don’t just see things from your view…

It is considered to be easier to follow what one believes in an environment where it is comfortable than to risk that belief in one that is hostile.  It is also with much facility, that one is seized up in their own views from this place of ultimate certainty; eventually evading one’s own faults.  Every once in a moon, we must challenge our beliefs to see just how solid they really are.  Whether it be by environment or by action or both.  The world is not a place of constancy and neither should we hold on to untruths or hold too tightly to “truths”.  Hold on tightly, let go lightly.

The presented article questions how traditionalists may apply some of their theories to modernity.

 

 

 

Author:

"If he's honest, he'll steal; if he's human, he'll murder; if he's faithful, he'll deceive. Being at a loss to resolve these questions, I am resolved to leave them without any resolution." I have so much to say to you that I am afraid I shall tell you nothing."

2 thoughts on “Discerning things from your view…

  1. Blindly following any ideology is dangerous for this very reason. The world is constantly changing. Everyone has his own unique perspective on the world. To hold onto a belief just because someone else has it is not a good way to live. In some cases, it is nothing short of insanity.

  2. I think most people(myself included) underestimate how easy it is to get caught into an erroneous way of thinking. In a way it human nature I suppose. But, on the other hand…its is very much a conscious decision whether you can admit it to yourself or not. I feel very uncomfortable with the thought of grabbing onto anything that is “organized” in a sense. Its not that I am an anarchist, but I feel like the more humans that are involved in one way of thinking, the farther it gets from me(who I am). I’ve certainly struggled even sharing common views with singular people…one must be honest and then question what this stems from. This is the hard part, because sometimes the view from where your are sitting is not accurate. I feel it will always be a constant struggle. One that I do not wish away consciously. There is a Poe poem that sums up the way I feel. Though he wrote it when he was 17…I believe it was quite profound:

    From childhood’s hour I have not been
    As others were; I have not seen
    As others saw; I could not bring
    My passions from a common spring.
    From the same source I have not taken
    My sorrow; I could not awaken
    My heart to joy at the same tone;
    And all I loved, I loved alone.
    Then- in my childhood, in the dawn
    Of a most stormy life- was drawn
    From every depth of good and ill
    The mystery which binds me still:
    From the torrent, or the fountain,
    From the red cliff of the mountain,
    From the sun that round me rolled
    In its autumn tint of gold,
    From the lightning in the sky
    As it passed me flying by,
    From the thunder and the storm,
    And the cloud that took the form
    (When the rest of Heaven was blue)
    Of a demon in my view.

Leave a Reply

